If you live in Florida and you own a vehicle, you are required to have a certain amount of insurance coverage. Now, you may want to stick with the bare minimum, especially if you have an older model car that is not worth having a lot of insurance on. On the other hand, if you have a newer model vehicle, you may want to have additional insurance, such as full coverage auto insurance, which will cover you for a lot more than the basic amount will.
What You Need for Auto Insurance in Florida
No matter what state you live in, there is going to be a minimum requirement of the insurance that you have to carry in order to legally have your vehicle on the roads. In Florida, you need to have $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL).
- Personal Injury Protection – This is also referred to as Florida No Fault Insurance. It will cover you up to the limits of your policy, no matter if you are at fault in an accident or not. Your children and other members of your household are also covered under this type of policy, as well as some passengers who do not have their own PIP insurance, and some licensed drivers who have your permission to use your vehicle. You are also protected if you are a pedestrian, cyclist or a passenger in another vehicle.
- Property Damage Liability – This type of coverage will pay for damages to property owned by you or your family members caused by an auto accident. You are also covered for damages to other people’s property, including that of your passengers.
What Your Full Coverage Actually Covers
When you have full coverage car insurance in Florida, you have the personal injury protection and property damage that is required by the state. In addition, you will also have uninsured motorist coverage, as well as coverage for damages that are not caused by an accident. These could be damages caused as a result of a hurricane or other severe weather, which is common in Florida.
- In Florida, your property damage coverage will not protect you from damages caused to someone else’s vehicle or property as a result of your own carelessness or negligence.
- Florida is one of 12 no-fault states, so medical bills are covered without having to prove that the other driver was at fault.
- In Florida, 80% of your medical expenses and 60% of lost wages are covered by full coverage auto insurance, with insurers paying a maximum of $10,000 in PIP coverage.
You may also wish to have supplemental insurance, including Med Pay coverage. This covers the remaining 20% of medical expenses not covered by PIP insurance. To learn more about full coverage auto insurance, as well as supplemental insurance, and to get the best rates, look around and ask for quotes from a variety of insurance companies. This way, you can be sure that you are going to have the coverage you need, at a price you can afford.