Compare Auto Insurance

Find quality full coverage auto insurance for less!
Enter your zip code to start saving money!

Full Coverage Auto Insurance in Texas – What You Need to Know

By law, all residents of Texas who own vehicles must have a certain amount of insurance in order for those vehicles to be legal for the road. There are many different types of insurance, and in most cases, Texans choose to have the bare minimum amount of liability insurance required by the state, or they have additional coverage, such as full coverage auto insurance. This way, they are covered for more than they would be with the minimum, and they can feel safer when they are in their vehicles, or in vehicles belonging to others.

You Need Liability Insurance

Full Coverage Auto Insurance in TexasIn Texas, all vehicle owners must carry liability insurance. If vehicle owners still owe money on their cars, lenders require that owners also carry collision and comprehensive insurance. This will pay for any damages and injuries that are covered by the specific policy if there is an accident, as well as medical expenses.

If you have full coverage car insurance, you will not only have liability insurance, but also comprehensive and collision coverage. Of course, there are going to be things that are not covered, but having full coverage is going to help a lot if you do happen to get into an accident, especially if you are at fault. This extra coverage is not required by the State of Texas, but it is a good thing to have.

Texas Auto Insurance Requirements

If you live in Texas and you own a vehicle, you must have a certain amount of liability insurance In 2008, the minimum amount of coverage required by the State was increased to $25,000 for each injured person to a total of $50,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. This coverage is known as 25/50/25. You may wish to upgrade for full coverage, which will provide you with these benefits, and then some. If you finance your vehicle, the State of Texas requires you to have full coverage auto insurance.

If you are caught driving without the required amount of liability insurance, you can face a fine ranging from $175 to $350. These fines increase if more than one offense is committed, and a third offense can lead to vehicle impound and suspension of your driver’s license. Of course, there are costs involved with releasing your vehicle and getting the insurance coverage you need, and on top of the fines, this can add up pretty fast. It is best to just make sure that you carry plenty of insurance, just to be on the safe side.

Get Full Coverage Auto Insurance Quotes Now

If you do not have insurance, or you want to switch insurance providers, it is important to make sure that you are going to get the best rate. You need to shop around for full coverage auto insurance, and get at least a few quotes from different insurance providers. This way, you can take a look at what products each of the insurance companies are offering and see which ones are offering the best available rates.